My new blog and one of my favorite cakes

A BIG hello from my new space 🙂 Before the year comes to an end, I thought that it would be a great idea to introduce you to my new personal space. These past few years have made me realize my love for food and I would like to use this space to share all that I’ve learnt and learning with you. Last day of the year and I’m not going to talk to you about any resolutions. It is only going to be one thing… An Apple cake! A cake that is buttery, crumbly and a little boozy! The beauty of this cake is that you can have it as a tea-time treat or serve it as a fancy dessert with some vanilla ice-cream. Inspired by this recipe, I have used unrefined ingredients to suit my taste. You can substitute as required; I usually use coconut sugar or raw sugar in my cakes to give it a nice colour and taste. The taste of almonds and apples when combined makes it a perfect snack or a dessert to serve your guests. To know more about why I started this blog please click here. Apple cake Ingredients:

For apple

2 medium sized apples, peeled cored and sliced

1stp butter

1tsp brandy 1/2 tbs sugar

For cake

150g butter

125g coconut sugar or raw sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp baking powder

185g wheat flour

85g almond meal

2tbs brandy or rum 1 tsp

scrapped vanilla

1/4 cup milk

1/3 cup almonds (I used almonds from Kashmir) brandy or rum soaked raisins (optional)

Preparation

  • Mix all the ingredients for apple and cook for about 3 minutes. Keep aside to cool.
  • Mix dry ingredients like flour, baking powder, almond meal and vanilla and keep aside.
  • Beat sugar with butter until smooth. Add egg one by one and beat until well incorporated. Add milk and mix well.
  • Combine the wet & the dry ingredients lightly.
  • Scrape 2/3 of the batter into the greased cake tin, and spread it evenly over the base
  • Scatter the cooled apples evenly over the cake mix, and then dollop over the remaining batter in a haphazard way.
  • Scatter over the almonds and bake for 40-45 minutes @ 180 degree or until a skewer inserted comes out clean.
  • Leave to cool for at least 10 minutes in the tin, before carefully unmolding it. Best served warm with some caramel sauce or vanilla ice-cream.

DSC_0785 Hope you are cooking something special today and sharing it with your loved ones. Happy New Year to you! You might also like this Apple Recipe from i2cook. Cake stand is from The Home Label.

Leave a Reply

