Gluten-Free Upside Down Orange Cake

 

It’s been more than a year since I last blogged and I cannot express how I’ve missed the blogging world. I went through a phase of not able to pen down my thoughts. I guess it happens to all of us and it took me more than a year to push myself to write this blog post. I’ve been busy at work, excising regularly (thanks to my abnormal hormones & eating disorders) and trying to eat local as much as possible. This year, I had decided to start using millets in my diet. I use millets in my baking and have substituted millets for rice in my food habits. Millets are not only good for weight loss but also has a low GI and is diabetic friendly. Today, I’m sharing an easy recipe for gluten free orange cake which uses  locally grown bajra or pearl millet flour. The combination of almond meal, pearl millet (bajra), vanilla and orange makes this cake a perfect combination of flavours. I can have this cake for breakfast or even with my evening cup of coffee. I insist that you try making this cake once and I’m sure you will look at orange cake differently from now on.

 

orange-1

 

Ingredients:

(Serves 6-8)

FOR CANDIED ORANGE

6-9 thinly slice oranges

100 gms raw sugar

50 ml water

1/4 tsp vanilla powder

FOR CAKE BATTER   (18 cm pan size)

150 gms butter

150 gms raw sugar

4 medium sized eggs

1 tsp vanilla powder

1 tsp baking powder

150 gms pearl millet flour or bajra

120 gms almond meal

1 tsp orange zest

squeeze juice of half medium-sized orange

Procedure:

FOR CANDIED ORANGE

Mix all the ingredients in a pan and simmer on medium flame until all the sugar has melted, reduced in quantity and has come to a syrup like consistency, takes about 10 mins. Remove from heat and allow it to cool. Take out the candied oranges from the pan with the help of a fork and keep it aside. You can keep the orange flavoured syrup for future use*.

FOR CAKE

  • Measure all the ingredients at room temperature and keep aside.
  • Beat sugar and butter until mixed well. Add egg one at a time and beat till well incorporated.
  • Mix the dry ingredients.
  • Add orange zest and juice to the wet mixture. Mix gently.
  • Mix dry and wet mixture gently with the help of a rubber spatula.
  • Place baking paper or parchment paper at the bottom of the cake pan, cut in the same shape.
  • Arrange the candied oranges at the bottom of the pan and pour the cake batter.
  • Bake in a pre-heated oven at 180 degree centigrade for 40 mins or until done. Check for doneness by piercing a tooth pick.
  • Allow the cake to cool in the pan for about 20 mins. Invert it on to a plate and allow it to cool completely.
  • Serve at room temperature or warm with some orange flavoured Greek yogurt.

(* orange flavoured syrup mixed with plain Greek yogurt can sweeten things up)

orange-2

One thought on “Gluten-Free Upside Down Orange Cake

Leave a Reply

